The Harold Grinspoon Charitable Foundation (HGCF) supports the Entrepreneurship Initiative (EI) to foster entrepreneurship education among participating colleges and universities in the region.

Many students have a true entrepreneurial spirit. The EI informs, supports, and inspires student entrepreneurs. Equally important, it recognizes and awards students for their entrepreneurial spirit and exemplary business plans.

Each year the Entrepreneurship Initiative promotes and encourages collegiate student entrepreneurship through these events and awards.



Oversight and Support

The EI is funded through the HGCF and is championed by a committee of faculty advisors from 14 participating area colleges:

College/University Faculty Email
American International College Mr. Marshall Epstein
Amherst College Ms. Emily Griffen
Amherst College Ms. Megan Lyster
Bay Path University Ms. Laurie Rosner
Elms College Ms. Amanda Garcia
Greenfield Community College Ms. Michelle Barthelemy
Hampshire College Mr. Daniel Ross
Holyoke Community College Ms. Ellen Majka
Mt. Holyoke College Mr. Rick Feldman
Smith College Dr. Susannah Howe
Smith College Ms. Rene Heavlow
Springfield College Dr. Eileen Cyr
Springfield Technical Community College Ms. Diane Sabato
University of Massachusetts Mr. Bob Lowry
University of Massachusetts Dr. Birton Cowden
Western New England University Dr. Mary Schoonmaker
Westfield State University Dr. Bradford Knipes
Westfield State University Dr. Kim Sherman


Cari Carpenter
Director, Entrepreneurship Initiative